Published on

Little House in the Big Woods


"Little House in the Big Woods" by Laura Ingalls Wilder


"Little House in the Big Woods" is the first book in the "Little House" series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. It introduces readers to the life of the Ingalls family living in a log cabin in the Wisconsin woods during the late 1800s. The novel is based on Wilder's own childhood and is written from the perspective of her younger self, Laura.

Key Themes

  • Family and Community: The novel emphasizes the importance of family and community support for survival and happiness in the harsh frontier setting.
  • Self-Sufficiency: It showcases the Ingalls family's self-sufficient lifestyle, from farming and hunting to making their own clothes and toys.
  • Connection to Nature: Laura's narrative reflects a deep connection and respect for the natural world, highlighting the beauty and challenges of rural life.

Plot Summary

The story follows the Ingalls family through the seasons, starting with winter preparations, including hunting and preserving food. Laura describes her daily life, filled with chores, family gatherings, and the occasional visit to the nearby town. Despite the hard work and challenges of frontier life, the family finds joy in simple pleasures and the beauty of the natural world around them.


"Little House in the Big Woods" is cherished for its detailed depiction of pioneering American life and its themes of resilience, family, and love of nature. It serves as an introduction to the larger series, which continues to follow Laura and her family as they move westward across the American frontier.