Published on



Eragon (Inheritance, Book 1) Summary

Author: Christopher Paolini
Narrator: Gerard Doyle
Genre: Fantasy


"Eragon" is the first book in the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. It tells the story of a young farm boy named Eragon, who discovers a mysterious stone that turns out to be a dragon egg. When the dragon Saphira is born, Eragon's life is changed forever. He becomes a Dragon Rider, a position thought to have disappeared from the world of Alagaësia.


The story begins in the small village of Carvahall, where Eragon finds a polished blue stone. The stone hatches into Saphira, and Eragon is thrust into a new world of magic and power. With the help of Brom, a storyteller with secrets of his own, Eragon learns about the ancient order of Dragon Riders and their role in the ongoing struggle against the evil King Galbatorix.

Eragon and Saphira set out on a journey of discovery and revenge after their home is destroyed by the king's forces. Along the way, they meet allies, including the Varden, a group of rebels fighting against Galbatorix's tyranny. Eragon's journey is fraught with danger, betrayal, and struggle, but also discovery and growth.


  • Eragon: A farm boy who becomes the last Dragon Rider.
  • Saphira: Eragon's dragon, wise and powerful.
  • Brom: A mysterious storyteller who becomes Eragon's mentor.
  • Murtagh: A skilled swordsman with a complicated past.
  • Arya: An elf with a deep connection to Eragon and Saphira.
  • Galbatorix: The malevolent king and former Dragon Rider seeking to control all of Alagaësia.


  • The Journey of Heroism: Eragon's transformation from a farm boy to a hero reflects the classic hero's journey, facing trials and maturing along the way.
  • Destiny and Choice: The book explores themes of fate versus free will, as Eragon grapples with his unexpected destiny as a Dragon Rider.
  • Good vs. Evil: The struggle against Galbatorix and the moral choices Eragon must make highlight the battle between light and darkness.


"Eragon" is a tale of adventure, bravery, and the bond between dragon and rider. It sets the stage for an epic saga that challenges its characters to rise above their circumstances and fight for freedom and justice.