Published on

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare


The Complete Works of William Shakespeare: Summary

"The Complete Works of William Shakespeare" encompasses the entirety of the literary output of William Shakespeare, a pivotal figure in English literature. Shakespeare's works, composed in the late 16th and early 17th centuries, have had a profound impact on English language, drama, and poetry. His collection includes 39 plays, 154 sonnets, and two long narrative poems, among other works.


Shakespeare's plays are divided into three main categories: tragedies, comedies, and histories. His tragedies, such as Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, and Macbeth, explore themes of ambition, power, betrayal, and human frailty. His comedies, including A Midsummer Night's Dream, Twelfth Night, and As You Like It, often feature mistaken identities, love triangles, and happy resolutions. The histories, such as Henry V and Richard III, delve into English history, offering insights into leadership, morality, and politics.

Sonnets and Poems

Shakespeare's 154 sonnets are considered some of the greatest in the English language, addressing themes of love, beauty, politics, mortality, and the passage of time. His long narrative poems, including "Venus and Adonis" and "The Rape of Lucrece," explore classical themes and showcase his skill in using the English language.


Shakespeare's works have been translated into every major living language and are performed more often than those of any other playwright. His profound understanding of human nature, mastery of language, and ability to blend the tragic with the comic have ensured his works remain central to the canon of English literature and continue to captivate audiences worldwide.