Published on

Sabriel The Old Kingdom 2


Sabriel - Garth Nix Summary

"Sabriel" is the first novel in the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix, blending elements of high fantasy with dark magic and necromancy. Set in a world divided between the magical Old Kingdom and the technologically advanced Ancelstierre, the novel follows Sabriel, a young woman who inherits her father's role as the Abhorsen, a necromancer charged with laying the dead to rest and combating the Dark forces.

Main Themes

  • The Coexistence of Life and Death: Sabriel's journey emphasizes the balance between life and death, and the responsibilities that come with power over both.
  • The Quest for Identity: As Sabriel takes on her father's mantle, she embarks on a quest not only to save her father but also to discover her true self and capabilities.
  • The Clash of Worlds: The stark differences between the magical and the technological worlds highlight the challenges and prejudices stemming from misunderstanding and fear of the unknown.

Plot Overview

Sabriel, raised in Ancelstierre, must return to the Old Kingdom upon receiving a distressing message from her father, the Abhorsen, who is missing. Crossing the Wall that separates the two realms, she steps into a world of magic, where the dead refuse to stay dead, controlled by the sinister necromancer Kerrigor.

Armed with her father's tools, the Abhorsen's bells, and the Book of the Dead, Sabriel embarks on a perilous journey to find him. Along the way, she allies with Mogget, a mysterious talking cat with magical powers, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage trapped in a wooden figurehead.

As Sabriel delves deeper into the Old Kingdom, she faces numerous challenges, learning to wield her powers and uncovering secrets about her family and the kingdom's past. The climax of her journey pits her against Kerrigor, in a battle that will determine the fate of both the living and the dead.


  • Sabriel: The protagonist, a brave and determined young woman learning to navigate her powers as the Abhorsen.
  • Touchstone: A Charter Mage who becomes Sabriel's ally and confidant, aiding her quest.
  • Mogget: A magical being bound in the form of a cat, serving the Abhorsen family, offering guidance and humor.


"Sabriel" is a compelling tale of courage, growth, and the fight against darkness. Garth Nix masterfully crafts a world where magic and reality intertwine, creating a narrative that is both thrilling and thought-provoking. Sabriel's journey from a cautious schoolgirl to a powerful necromancer is a testament to the strength found in facing one's fears and responsibilities.