Published on



summary: "Dubliners" is a collection of fifteen short stories by James Joyce, first published in 1914. These stories offer a penetrating analysis of the stagnation and paralysis of Dublin society. The tales begin with childhood, move through adolescence, and conclude in adulthood, reflecting the universal journey of maturation. Joyce's masterful use of language and exploration of narrative structure reveal the epiphanies—moments of profound insight and understanding—that occur in the mundane and seemingly trivial events of everyday life.

  1. The Sisters - Introduces the theme of paralysis and death that will echo throughout the collection.
  2. An Encounter - Describes the longing for adventure in youth and the disillusionment that often follows.
  3. Araby - A young boy's idealism is crushed by the reality of life's disappointments.
  4. Eveline - Explores the theme of escape and the fear of taking bold steps toward change.
  5. After the Race - Deals with the pitfalls of chasing after superficial success.
  6. Two Gallants - Reveals the moral decay beneath the surface of social interactions.
  7. The Boarding House - Discusses the societal pressures and moral compromises in search of security.
  8. A Little Cloud - Examines the constraints of domestic life and the unrealized dreams of youth.
  9. Counterparts - Focuses on the cyclical nature of aggression and submission within the family and workplace.
  10. Clay - Symbolizes the transience of life and the inevitability of death.
  11. A Painful Case - Demonstrates the tragic outcomes of emotional isolation and detachment.
  12. Ivy Day in the Committee Room - Reflects on Irish nationalism and the disillusionment with political leaders.
  13. A Mother - Highlights the conflicts between personal ambition and societal expectations.
  14. Grace - Considers the possibilities of redemption and the complexity of faith.
  15. The Dead - Culminates in a profound realization of love, loss, and the interconnectedness of life.