Published on

Dragonfly In Amber


Dragonfly In Amber - Summary

About the Book

"Dragonfly In Amber" is the second book in Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. It continues the story of Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser against the backdrop of the Jacobite rising of 1745. Claire, now back in the 20th century, recounts her adventurous journey in 18th century Scotland and France. The narrative bridges past and present, exploring deep themes of love, loyalty, and destiny, while blending historical fiction, romance, and fantasy.

Key Characters

  • Claire Randall: A former WWII nurse who finds herself transported back in time to 18th century Scotland. She is a strong, independent spirit navigating the complexities of a different era.
  • Jamie Fraser: A Scottish warrior with gallantry and charisma, embodying the conflicts and passions of his time.


The novel explores themes of history, time travel, love, sacrifice, political intrigue, and the personal costs of war. It offers a rich tapestry of historical events woven with the personal stories of its characters.

Author Bio

Diana Gabaldon is renowned for her ability to blend historical accuracy with engaging narrative and richly developed characters. "Dragonfly In Amber" cements the Outlander series as a significant work in historical fiction and romance.