Published on

Clockwork Prince


Summary of Clockwork Prince

Clockwork Prince is the second book in Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices trilogy, set in a Victorian-era London filled with shadowy streets and supernatural dangers. The story continues the journey of Tessa Gray, a young American woman with the rare ability to transform into any other person at will, as she navigates a complex world of love, loyalty, and betrayal among the Shadowhunters, a secretive race of beings who protect the human world from demons.

Key Themes and Characters

  • Tessa Gray: Tessa is caught in a tumultuous love triangle with two Shadowhunters: Jem Carstairs, gentle and kind, battling a deadly addiction, and Will Herondale, brooding and mysterious, hiding a painful secret that keeps him at arm's length from everyone.
  • The Shadowhunters: Including Charlotte Branwell, the head of the London Institute, who fights to protect her position and the future of the Shadowhunters against internal and external threats.
  • Mortmain: The antagonist seeking to destroy the Shadowhunters using an army of clockwork creatures. His plans are intricately linked with Tessa's true identity and powers.

Plot Overview

The narrative delves deep into the heart of the London Institute, exploring the complex relationships and personal demons of its inhabitants. Tessa, struggling with her identity and the revelation of her powers, seeks answers about her past and her brother's whereabouts, driving the plot forward.

As Mortmain's plans unfold, the Shadowhunters must race against time to thwart his scheme to annihilate them using his clockwork army. The story is a blend of action-packed sequences, heartfelt moments, and revelations that test the bonds of love and friendship among the characters.


Clockwork Prince explores themes of love, sacrifice, and the quest for identity. It examines the power of secrets and the lengths to which people will go to protect those they love. The novel also delves into the moral complexities of duty versus desire, and the search for one's place in a world filled with darkness and light.


Clockwork Prince is a captivating blend of steampunk fantasy and romantic drama, weaving a rich tapestry of character development, thrilling adventure, and a deep exploration of the human heart. As the middle book of the trilogy, it sets the stage for the final showdown in Clockwork Princess, promising a conclusion that is both exhilarating and emotionally satisfying.